Mayor & City Council

Mayor & City Council
The Mayor and City Council are the legislative and policy making body for the City of Willmar government.  The Mayor is responsible for chairing Council meetings and making various appointments.

The Mayor and eight City Council members are elected to alternating four-year terms.  The City of Willmar is divided into four wards.  Two Council members are elected to represent each ward.  Elections are held in November of even numbered years.

The City of Willmar has a Council-Administrator form of government.  The City Administrator is responsible for carrying out the directions of the Council majority.

City Council MEETING TIMES & Location
The City Council holds meetings on the first and third Mondays of each month at 7:00pm in the Board Room at the Kandiyohi County Health and Human Services Building. Check the Calendar for dates and agendas for all City Council Work Sessions and Meetings. City Council LIVE Streaming video can be found here: LIIVE STREAM

WardFirst NameLast NameAddressEmailPhone
Represents  Ward 1 Andrew Plowman 505 NW 36th Street 320-894-3279
Represents  Ward 1  Kathy Schwantes 1503 Country Club Drive NE 320-235-7956
Represents  Ward 2 Vicki Davis 2007 10th Street SW 320-403-1294
Ward 2
Julie Asmus 1404 16th Street SW 320-235-4089
Represents  Ward 3 Rick Fagerlie
805 24th Street SE 320-235-6970
Represents  Ward 3 Fernando Alvarado
809 Monongalia Ave SW
Represents  Ward 4 Shawn Mueske
2026 5th St SW 320-214-9134
Represents  Ward 4  Audrey Nelsen
1509 9th Street SE
Mayor, Willmar Marv Calvin 619 SW 11th Street 320-212-2171